Bunny chow – A taste of Durban, South Africa

Now I have been with my South African husband for almost 17 years and have visited Durban, South Africa quite a few times in those years but for some reason I have never tried a Bunny chow which originates from Durban.

A Bunny chow is not what it sounds, it is not a dish made out of rabbit as I certainly would not be eating it (I don’t eat red meat).  It is a dish that originates from around the depression era where migrant workers used to buy this cheap curry like a take away.  There are many different stories about the origins of this dish, to find out more please visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bunny_chow.

In Durban this is really a street food, a curry made with mutton and potatoes and stuffed into half a loaf of white bread, served in a brown bag and eaten with your hands.

For my first experience of Bunny chow, it was a little more civilised and we had plates and a fork on stand by!

We got the recipe from BBC Food, http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/bunny_chow_38916.

ingredients

Yes, as you can see there are quite a few ingredients for this recipe, however, that said, it has to be one of the best curry’s I have had for quite some time. It is full of spice and flavour, not creamy, quite a light curry which is good as I don’t like them to be too creamy. It was spicy but not so much in the hot spicy sense so I think if we were to do it again, we would increase the hot spices to give it a bit of punch!

Homemade Rolls

I made my own bread as I felt half a loaf of white bread seemed a bit excessive and we couldn’t find rolls the right size or shape. I ended up making 3 batches of rolls to get the right size so we certainly have enough bread rolls at the moment! The bread turned out perfect. I have to admit this was my little bit of cheating, I bought the bread packets in the supermarket, the ones that you just add water too! They are so simple to make and so tasty. I would recommend keeping a few packs in your pantry for that day when you realise you have no bread in the house and it is torrential rain outside!

Bunny Chow

Here is the Bunny chow, the chicken version. Although it looks a bit bland in this picture, the flavours are anything but bland. I would definitely recommend this recipe, it is a great one for a cold winters night and also great to make extra to put in the freezer for a rainy day!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bunny chow – A taste of Durban, South Africa

  1. I’d never heard of bunny chow before, but the recipe looks good. I’d have to make a trip to the spice store to pick up some of the seeds first though. Looks delicious. I love curry.

    • Hi Heidi, it is really tasty and we did two batches so we have freezed one batch. Yes there are a lot of spices and we needed stock up but good to have them in the pantry. Add some chillies if you like it hot!

  2. The Global Recipe Project at crowdedearthkitchen.com is seeking authentic South African recipes. I hope you will consider participating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

