Sunday Sewing – Easy Girls Skirt

I haven’t done a Sunday sewing blog for such a long time, I thought it was time to do one but this time, my 8 year old daughter did the sewing with her new sewing machine!

We decided to make a very simple skirt with an elasticated waist for her first project.  I found this fantastic tutorial which I had pinned from my Sewing board on Pinterest.

Maddys Cloud Skirt2 (1 of 1)

My daughter chose the fun cloud fabric which I actually really like and think is very cute for a simple summer skirt. It is a nice cotton fabric which was easy for her to sew and sat nicely when completed.

Maddys Cloud Skirt (1 of 1)

I haven’t done a step by step tutorial for this skirt as the tutorial I have linked above is very thorough and also trying to supervise an eight year old with a sewing machine is no easy feat!

I am really proud of her achievement in making her first ever skirt and I think she has done a fantastic job. She now has big plans of future outfits, some that do sound a bit complex! Great to have ambition!

Before I forget, don’t forget to enter my cushion (pillow) giveaway, closes Friday 21st February 10 pm GMT, please check it out here.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Sewing – Easy Girls Skirt

  1. Great job on the skirt – a skirt was my first sewing project too, growing up. I took a sewing class through 4-H and learned to make a wrap around skirt. It seems like a long time ago now.

  2. DeDivahDeals says:

    First of all, she is just too cute. I remember making all of my maternity skirts which are easy breezy and could be altered after I gave birth. Hope you are having a good day!

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, Maddy loves this skirt so I am sure there will be more to be made! Good idea to make maternity skirts as you could change this pattern accordingly to work with an expanding tummy! 🙂

  3. Great project! It will look so cute in the summer. I’m sewing a bit with my girls, but maybe making themselves skirts will get them a bit more interested – that and a couple more years 🙂

Leave a Reply

