PaperLove Blog Hop – A recycling special

I am participating in my first ever blog hop and I hope that you all will join in with this blog hop and discover a new found love and appreciation for paper and maybe be inspired to create new projects as well.

This blog hop is all about a love for paper, and it is something I can totally relate too.  Take me shopping and I would rather spend my time in a stationery shop than a clothes shop! Getting a new note book is far more fulfilling than a new dress!

My love of paper extends to how you can recycle it to create new items which I feel in this day and age is important to recycle as much as possible, there is far too much waste in society.  Therefore I have explored recycling with three projects that use newspaper and unwanted office paper.

This weekend just gone, I decided to try making my own paper with texture, the plan is to use this paper as part of the Stitched Post Card swap.  I do hope to finish this postcard in the next day so I can get it sent off.  I will post pictures once it is completed.

Paper Making 1 (1 of 1)
I loosely followed a tutorial but mostly made it up as I went along, I like to experiment. I used mostly scrap computer paper as I read somewhere that newspaper would result in the paper being a bit greyish which makes sense.

Paper Making 2 (1 of 1)

This photo does not look nice, the bits of paper sat in this water for a couple hours and then I mulched it by hand to form a pulp.

Paper Making 3 (1 of 1)

I put the paper pulp into a screen and then sat it in about 3cm of water and spread it across the screen.

Paper Making 4 (1 of 1)

Once it was evenly spread, I placed it on some newspaper and then proceeded to put a cloth over the top and gently ironed over it to remove the excess water.

Paper Making 5 (1 of 1)

I then placed it on the screen to dry overnight.  You will notice I added bits of leather scraps in the paper to add texture to it and I quite like it.

Paper Making 7 (1 of 1)

There are so many ideas of adding texture to paper and one I do want to try at some stage is lavender.  Scented paper sounds so lovely.  The paper dried quite quickly in the sunlight and it has been quite a good learning experience for me in the art of making paper.  My paper is a bit thick so probably belongs in the card family than the paper one!  However, it is perfect for making my postcard.

PaperWeaving1

A favourite recycling tutorial for me is using newspaper to create a basket. It is a simple project but such an effective and useful one.

PaperWeaving4

PaperWeaving7
PaperWeaving9For the full tutorial of how to make this paper woven basket, please visit here.
PaperWeaving13

Another great way of recycling newspaper is making bird sculptures.

Paper Bird (1 of 1)

I didn’t have a tutorial for this project, it was just exploring how to shape the paper into the right form. That is the beauty of working with paper, it can be manipulated in so many ways to create many different shapes and forms.

Paper Bird2 (1 of 1)

photo (151)

This is the final version of the paper bird. I added two layers on top of the paper, one was a linen layer and the top layer a mix of leathers.

Paper is many things, it is pretty, it is useful, it is part of everyday life and it can be used for so many creative projects even when the life of the paper seems to be at it’s end, it can be rejuvenated into a new project, a new use, a new life. Do you have any favourite recycling project that you would like to share, I would love to hear about it.

The PaperLove Blog Hop is a celebration of all things paper! Follow the links to discover more bloggers who love paper and use it to inspire and delight. And if you want to explore a whole world of paper, and stretch your paper passion further with a host of creative projects, why not join the innovative new online course PaperLove (starts March 31). Led by book artist Rachel Hazell, PaperLove is a five week creative adventure for paper lovers. Find out more here

paperlovebloghop_550x300

Participant list

Majo Bautista / Tona Bell Louise Best Cathy Bluteau / Jennifer Bomgardner / Giova Brusa / Lindsay Buck / Beka Buckley / Joanna Caskie / Jonathan Chapman (Mr Yen) / Halle Cisco / Sarah Clare / Cathryn Clarge / Dawn Clarkson / Rhiannon Connelly Jenny D’Fuego / Molly Dhiman / Ian Dudley / Ayisatu Emore / Akmal Farid / Monika Forsberg / Claire Fritz-Domeney / Louise Gale / Chrissy Gaskell / Julie Hamilton / Emma Hawman / Rachel Hazell / Holly Helgeson / Claudine Hellmuth / Kim Henkel / Sarah Hoffman / Joanne Hus / Paula Joerling / Beth Kempton / Julie Kirk / Eos Koch / Katie LaClair / Kristy Lankford / Michelle Manolov / Doreen Marts Rosie Martinez-Dekker / Tori Mears / Maria Mederios / Lise Meijer / Debbie Miller / MaryJane Mitchell / Suzy Naidoo / Grace Noel / Hannah Nunn / Camilla Olsson / Jo Packham / Rachelle Panagarry / Monette Pangan / Melanie Paul Nicole Piar / Jen Pitta / Liz Plummer Julie Reed / Michelle Reynolds / Lisa Rivas Angee Robertson / Natalie Ryan / Aisling Ryan / Elisabet Sapena / Kyrrha Sevco / Jamie Sprague / Elizabeth Steele / Terri Stephens / Juniper Stokes / Mary Tanana / Maike Thoma / Linda Tieu Gabrielle Treanor / Tammy Tutterow / Deborah Velasquez / Jordan Vinograd Kim / Cat Whipple / Brooke Witt / Katie Wood Amelia Woodbridge

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to PaperLove Blog Hop – A recycling special

  1. Giova Brusa says:

    I love your paper bird. It is just beautiful!!
    And yes, that is the wonderful thing about paper, even a tiny bit is useful. I never waste any of it!
    Thank you for sharing your paper love!!

  2. Camilla says:

    What a lovely post and what nice things you can create. I so love doing this blog hop. So nice to read about every once love for paper. Thank you for sharing yours.
    /Camilla Olsson – also in the blog hop http://www.camillaolssonart.wordpress.com

  3. Beka says:

    …ooh, thank you for sharing your recycled crafts today. I especially love that bird in it’s linen covered stage: such a gorgeous silhouette! Paper beads are one of my favourite ways to recycle paper, though they can be a bit fiddly at times. And I *love* that you like to experiment – I’m all for that! Hop on 🙂

    • Thank you for your nice comments, I was undecided whether to add another layer after the linen, so next time I may leave it at the linen stage as I have a Robin in half made mode at the moment! I haven’t tried paper beads, they do sound very fiddly but I would imagine they would be quite pretty. 🙂

  4. I really like the rolled up papers you use to make the baskets and the baskets themselves are really cool. I would love a set of these on my desk. Very inspiring….I came here via the paper hop….

  5. Sarah clare says:

    Hi Melanie, thank you for hopping to my blog as part of the paper love blog hop, I hopped back 🙂
    What a fab paper bird I love it! Birds are such an inspiration for me.
    I also love to make paper as you did, I love to add all sorts of bits in there, I get a bit carried away and they become pieces of art rather than a piece of paper. But thats all part of the excitement you never quite know how it’s going to turn out.

    Happy blogging!

    Sarah

  6. Bruce LeGros says:

    These are really great ways to recycle old paper – it’s so important to recycle wherever possible so creating art like this is a fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

