Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

postcardswap200b

Further to my previous post of my first ever blog hop on my love of paper, here is another initiative I have participated in, the Great Big Stitched Postcard swap with the theme of Create with including paper into the design.

I decided to use the paper I made in the weekend as it really didn’t belong in the lightweight paper category, it was more like the stiff card category!

Create Postcard 4 (1 of 1)

Create Postcard 2 (1 of 1)

I used a variety of fabrics for this postcard, all the patterned fabrics are my own designs. I wanted to have a mix of colours and styles with the focus on the stitching to get the simple message across.  I added a leather border to give the seed shape more depth.

Create Postcard 3 (1 of 1)

I added a little message on the back for my swap partner and again bordered it with some black leather. I hope my swap partner, Monica, likes this postcard.

Create Postcard 1 (1 of 1)

This was a fun project to work on as it got me away from the computer for a bit and thinking about how to work several different types of materials into one project. Plus, I learnt how to make paper or in my case, card!

To find out more about the Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap please click on the image at the top of this blog post. This particular swap had 350 participants from around the world. I really like the idea of receiving mail in my letter box (instead of electronically) and for it to be a handmade creation too is even better!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

  1. Mari says:

    Love it!!! And the quote is super! Now did you stitch all that my machine, Im just trying to figure out how you did it without getting your fingers caught in to the stitching {I know I would have}…

    • Thank you, glad you like it. I machine stitched. I did originally start to hand stitch but it was a little tricky with the thickness of the fabric to get a neat job and I did prick my fingers quite a few times!

Leave a Reply

