A New Chapter – The Drawing Chapter

Life is like a story and with every story there are chapters and I am entering what I call the drawing chapter!  I am currently doing two short courses which do focus on drawing, an area which puts me out of my comfort zone as it does not come as naturally as I would like.

A few weeks back I totally went out of my comfort zone when I started a life drawing class.  Admittedly I had not read the course description completely and had assumed it was a still life course so when I arrived and there was a rather big lady standing in front of me in all her glory for me to capture, I was somewhat taken out of my comfort zone and thrown into the deep end!  That said, I am actually really enjoying this course although I struggle with the human form, I am learning a lot from it, the way the light captures parts of the body, proportions, expressions etc.

life drawing lesson 1

Admittedly, I have a lot to learn but even this drawing above is a huge improvement from my first one I drew which will always make me smile as it is so bad! I will not be putting it up for show anywhere!

I am also currently doing an online course called Building Your Professional Portfolio run by The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design.  This week is the first week of the course and it has been all about object and character drawing and developing.  I have found this both challenging and fun.  I do not have a natural ability with drawing but I do enjoy it.

photo (210)

As you can see, I have more work to be done on my drawing skills, my bunnies look rather angry and odd!

photo (210)
I decided to focus working on my owl, developing it more in illustrator to create a new design.

owl 1-01

 

This is still a work in progress, I will be adding more colour and detail to this in illustrator. I hope to have it completed by next week and have a nice surface design to showcase.

For now, I shall get back to the sketch book and have fun with it.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Chapter – The Drawing Chapter

  1. craftysorcha says:

    I love your drawings! I like doodling but I’m no good at drawing, what’s in my head doesn’t translate well to paper, I’d love to improve.

    • Thank you. I am also like that, ideas are great in my head but don’t translate so well on paper. I am finding I am better at more abstract drawing than real life! One exercise I have found good is drawing with your eyes closed, it allows more freedom and is quite fun as you create some interesting shapes!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

