The Whale Wave Ride – New Surface Design

I have been really busy developing my sketches and building up on my surface designs.  It is a process which I am actually really enjoying and learning so much from.  This past week, I created a design based around a whale on a wave for this week’s Spoonflower Whale Limited Palette competition.

whales

I am enjoying sketching and hope that the more I do the better and more confident I become.

whales2-01

I scanned my drawing in and then drew over it in illustrator. I could have used image trace for this but wanted to have more control over the lines and I also would have had to redraw the whale in ink as the contrast was not enough.

whales8-01

The end design which I have entered into the Spoonflower competion. There are a lot of whales in this competition so if you have a thing for whales, you should go check it out here.

Whale SquareBlue-01-01

I decided to do a couple of versions in blue tones to see how they would look.

Whale SquareBlue-02

And then I did some coordinating designs in similar colour ranges.

Whale Chevrons_ReviewMod4
Whale Chevrons2-01-01
Whale Chevrons2-02

I do like chevrons and the colours work really nicely.

geometric shapes2-01

This geometric design reminds me of mosaics and I do like it although I am not sure if it completely fits in with the rest or it is something I shall move into another collection.

Which design do you like best?  I would love to hear your thoughts.

For now, I am just heading out the door for a long weekend in Copenhagen, really looking forward to it and have armed myself with my sketch book and camera to capture inspiration as I am sure there will be plenty. I do love Scandinavian design!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Whale Wave Ride – New Surface Design

  1. mlwilkie says:

    Love the first blue and yellow 🙂 Great job.

  2. Love the whales – but the third chevron pattern is my favourite.

Leave a Reply

