Exploring Copenhagen

We had a lovely four night stay in Copenhagen last weekend, we did a lot of exploring on foot which is the best way to see a city I feel!  I enjoyed getting the camera out as it had been quite some time since I last took any photographs.

Copenhagen4 (1 of 1)

It was rather chilly when we first got there but it didn’t stop us exploring the city, we walked to keep warm!

Copenhagen2 (1 of 1)

I love the colours of these houses against the grey/white sky and dark water, very inspiring.

Copenhagen9 (1 of 1)

One thing about Copenhagen is there are loads of bicycles, it kind of reminds me of Amsterdam but the roads are much wider and you have to look in all directions when crossing them!

Copenhagen24 (1 of 1)

Copenhagen is well set up for cyclists with dedicated cycling lanes everywhere making it safer to cycle and probably why there are so many that do cycle.
Copenhagen11 (1 of 1)

Happily walking along soaking in the sights. My son has just learnt to skip so he skipped ahead everywhere, so cute!

Copenhagen17b (1 of 1)

Copenhagen12 (1 of 1)

Buildings along the waterfront, the one above is the Architecture design centre which would have been great to go visit but we just ran out of time and energy to walk the distance to it!  I love how many windows this building has, and the different sizes.

Copenhagen19 (1 of 1)

Fantastic house boat, there were quite a few of these which looked like permanent residency as they each had their own letter boxes and electricity hooked up.

Sweden13 (1 of 1)

We went to Malmo in Sweden for a day, it is only a 35 minute train journey from Copenhagen. It was good to explore of this city, much smaller and quieter than Copenhagen and slightly less expensive which was good as money goes fast in Copenhagen!

Sweden2 (1 of 1)

The main train station in Malmo above. I didn’t get my camera out much whilst we were in Malmo so not many photos to show. It is a pretty small city which was easy to get around with some lovely design and craft shops although I refrained from buying although I did see quite a few things I would have loved to have bought!

Sweden7 (1 of 1)

These chickens were made of paper and I think they are so effective and quite fun. I spotted these in a store in Malmo.

Sweden8 (1 of 1)

Another product I found in Malmo was this ceramic organiser which I really would love on my wall. Far too heavy to take home though!

BoConcept4 (1 of 1)

In Copenhagen we went to a lot of design stores, I love Scandinavian design and was in awe of all the gorgeous designs on offer, I just wish I had big pockets of money to be able to afford it.

BoConcept2 (1 of 1)

However, despite not having enough money, looking at all these designs was hugely inspiring and I now want to recreate some of what I have seen for my own home.

BoConcept3 (1 of 1)
BoConcept1 (1 of 1)

These rugs are made of reindeer skin and although I am not a fan of animal skins, I do like the geometrics and shades of these designs.

The above four pictures were from the BoConcept store in Copenhagen. I plan to visit the one in the UK as they have some very cool geometric mugs that we really loved.

Copenhagen8 (1 of 1)

We really enjoyed our time in Copenhagen and our day visit to Malmo, the Scandinavian people sure do know how to do design! I have come back full of inspiration and ideas that I hope to implement into our home one day soon!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Photography, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

