Designs for Paper

There is one thing I do enjoy doing and that is experimenting with different mediums. Largely my designs end up on fabric however I do have a love of all things paper related and created some new designs for cards which in time I hope to put up for sale.

I created an origami inspired birds mini collection for stationery and had a few printed out in cards to see how they looked.

Everything I do generally starts from a simple sketch.

img062 hummingbird origami

Then I scan and edit them digitally.

owl-hummingbird crane coloured-01 crane moo-01

For this mini collection I wanted to keep the colours simple and just have tones of a few colours. For me, these designs are all about lines and shapes rather than correct proportions and accuracy.

CraneCoStationaryCollection2

This mini collection is simple but effective. I think the printed cards are really nice but I would adjust the size of the origami bird to be slightly bigger, and I would also darken the background colour a little more to add better contrast.

origami birds

This is my first time exploring printing on paper so I have more to learn but I am happy with how I am progressing. I can see these origami birds in a fabric collection, so watch this space!

As well as digital printed cards, I have also had a bit of fun with lino printing a couple of cards. I do love carving patterns for print although I am still very much an amateur as my line work is not as neat as it should possibly be but I think it gives my subject more character, what do you think?

Owl Sketch Carving Owl Carving Owl Lino Print

I do love birds and Owls have so much character to work with. Although this guy is a little wibbly wobbly, I am really happy with how he turned out.

I also did another quick carving, inspired by our recent purchase of the Lakes.

Fish Lino Carving Fish LinoPrint

I hope to explore further with lino carving and printing as I do enjoy getting off the computer and using my hands every now and then. I think mixing things up is good, a bit of creativity digitally and with your hands is a good balance.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Designs for Paper

  1. Elizabeth - Lili and Mum's says:

    Very pretty! I love origami.

Leave a Reply

