Exploring Photography

I am now over half way through my photography short course and absolutely loving it.  I have learnt so much in such a short time, I am feeling very inspired and keen to get out there and experiment more and more.

On Sunday, I had a day workshop taking photo’s along Bedford Embankment.  We were so lucky with the weather, it was a lovely day, if anything, it was probably too sunny for some of the shots but hey, I’m not complaining as I love sunny, Autumn days!

treeline1

I do have a fondness of trees and how the light can bounce off them and the different lines that you get from them.

leaves angled

I love leaves, there so many great patterns that can be formed from leaves and at this time of year when the leaves are changing, the colours are so beautiful.

River Grass

This is just a simple photo of grass but I really like how the light captures it.

Bridge2

I was using my wide angle lens for this photo, capturing lines and angles with white on blue.

ripples

You know I don’t remember taking this photo as I took a few but the swirly patterns in the water is very captivating.

leaf in water 2

Practising shutter speed with the weir, it was a bit tricky as there was so much light as you can from the reflection, possibly a filter would have been useful for these shots.

water2

swan1

I never realised how quick Swans move until I tried to photograph them, they are graceful but fast! Hence why part of this Swan’s head is missing but having said that, I still like this shot.

close up swan feathers with drops

goose feathers3

Close up of feathers and water droplets on the feathers. Great patterns.

goose walking

This is a fun shot.  If that goose could talk, I am sure he would be saying, ‘are you still taking pictures of me’!!

railings close up

Playing with lines with this shot.

close up yellow flowers

orange flowers

yellow flowers

I do have a love of flowers, the colours, and shapes all form great bases for surface patterns.

I am thoroughly enjoying this learning process and my photo’s are bringing me more inspiration for future surface designs.

I cannot recommend more highly Inspired Light Images for photography courses, both Will and Kay are fantastic teachers.  They also do workshops in London as well which I would be keen to do at some stage.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Exploring Photography

  1. What type of camera are you using?

  2. mlwilkie says:

    I love your photos you have been taking. I might have to look into photography classes too now 🙂 Inspiring

  3. Gorgeous, Gorgeous photos! Love them all, especially the grasses one!

  4. Wow, these are some truly amazing photos and you have wonderful talent!!!

Leave a comment